Six central African countries to launch common passport in July

N'DJAMENA (AFP) - Six central African countries plan to launch a common passport in July, permitting the free movement of goods and people across their borders, they said in a statement on Thursday.

The countries, which comprise the Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC), agreed on the long-delayed common passport during the bloc's summit this week in Chad.

The countries in the bloc are Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Chad, Central African Republic, Cameroon and Congo.